The Best Medicine

3 Mar

Of course we’ve all heard the saying “Laughter is the best medicine”. Studies have shown that laughter does indeed reduce the level of stress hormones such as cortisol, epinephrine and dopamine as well as increasing the levels of good hormones such as endorphins as well as antibody-producing cells and makes your T-cells more effective. It’s also a pretty nice physical workout. When you laugh it causes you to excercise your diaphram and contract your abdominal muscles. It’s good for the heart in both the physical sense and the spiritual sense.

As nice as that is, in my case I don’t agree that it’s the best medicine. For me, there is no better medicine than a new pair of shoes.

A gift from my fantastic husband

My dosage this time has 4-inch heels and leopard print. Just what the doctor ordered.

2 Responses to “The Best Medicine”

  1. Pamela Hachey March 3, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    Love this!!! I am a fellow shoe-whore and you are so right.

  2. Adam March 3, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    So true. To quote one of my favourite songs: “Hey, I put some new shoes on, and suddenly everything is right.”

Leave a comment