Snowflakes

7 Nov

On November 1st, we had the first snowfall of the season here in Newfoundland. I didn’t get any pictures, and the snow didn’t stay down on the ground, but it simultaneously thrilled and horrified me. Even though I’m long past that stage where winter is exciting and I can’t wait for snow, the first snowfall of the season always still gives me that old thrill. Despite its shortcomings, snow is so pretty and looks so clean and fresh. As the thrill ran through me, the horror chased behind. Snow already? I hate winter! Winter is cold and wet and gross! It makes it so difficult to get out to run errands and the people where I live drive like idiots at the best of time. Give them a layer of slush and/or ice and we’re talking about playing Russian Roulette just to go to the grocery!

The snowfall combined with todays self-actualization project made me think about that whole theory that no two snowflakes are exactly the same, just like no two people are exactly the same. Today I was supposed to write about what makes me different from everyone else. What makes me a “special snowflake”? So I sat down with my laptop to write.

And spent the next twenty minutes at least staring at the screen blankly.

What does make me different and special? I honestly don’t think there is anything about me that really sets me apart. There are things about me that are unusual, sure, but nothing that I don’t share with at least some other small group of the population. Here are some of those “oddities”.

– I have a large family…and I only want to add to it. I’m not finished with four children. I want more. Maybe I’ll decide five is enough. maybe six. Maybe more. Honestly though, this doesn’t make me special. Sure we have more than the average amount of children, but we’re no Jim Bob and Michelle Duggar. In the grand scheme of things, four children really isn’t that many.

– I am intensely passionate about what I believe in and will fight for what I believe is fair and just, but I’m no Nelson Mandela.

– I love my friends and family and would give my life for theirs, but any mother, father, sister or brother worth their salt would do the same.

But only I can raise my children to be good, loving, tolerant members of society. Only I can teach them to reach out to a friend in need. To put their arms around the friend who is crying. To embrace the rejected. To love everyone, not in spite of their differences but because of them. Only I can teach them what it means to sacrifice your own wants and desires in the name of making a difference.

Only I can be James’ mommy. Hayden’s mommy. Silas’ mommy. Lola’s mommy. Only I can teach them by my example what a mother’s love is supposed to be. Unconditional, fierce, never-ending.

What makes me a “special snowflake” are the little snowflakes that I brought into this world and my imprint on the world will be an echo of the imprints they make.

This is what makes me different. This is my task and mine alone. God help me to fulfill it and not fail the special snowflakes he’s entrusted to me.

One Response to “Snowflakes”

  1. Beckie November 8, 2010 at 2:51 am #

    What makes you special, is the fact that your the only one to have a beckie, an adam and a Da!!! and i’m the only one to have a Sissy!!! You are different from the crowd, cause you have us!!!!

Leave a Reply

