The New Me

9 Oct

Once upon a time when I was a party girl, I looked incredible. I was petite, standing at only 5′ 2″ and weighing 105lbs soaking wet. I had nice perky boobs and a Jennifer Lopez backside and rocked a pair of hip hugging jeans and a midriff baring top like nothing else.

Then I had children.

With the first two boys I managed to lose the pregnancy weight fairly easily. Breastfeeding really helped melt those pounds away and so in no time I was back in my old clothes. When Silas was born, I chose not to breastfeed. It was a heart-wrenching decision for me because I’m what you might call a “lactivist”. I’m a very passionate breastfeeding advocate and it hurt me deeply to have to decide against doing something that I felt would benefit my baby and my bond with him. However, I firmly believe that sometimes we have to do what’s best for the entire family and  not just the newest member of it, and I knew that breastfeeding and dealing with a very high-needs 2 year old would prove to cause more heartache in the long run, so I chose to formula feed Silas.

And the weight didn’t come off.

When I got pregnant with Lola, I weighed in at 160lbs. I cried when I made that discovery. It was the heaviest I’d ever been in my life and here I was facing a possible weight gain of another 25lbs or more. It was depressing. I’d never been more out of shape in my life.

Yes, THIS depressing.

By some fluke, I only put on 8lbs while pregnant with Lola, and over 6lbs of that was Lola. I left the hospital already below my pre-pregnancy weight.

Today’s assignment was to share something I’ve been proud of in the past few days. Well, when I weighed in at the doctor’s office on Wednesday I was only 146lbs. I’ve lost 22 since Lola was born and I’m down 14 from my pre-pregnancy weight. Proud? Oh yes I am!

I plan to keep losing the weight and get back into shape. My goal is to hit 115lbs again, but I’d be almost as happy with 125lbs. Starting in November, Johnny and I are using the P90X program to lose the weight and get back in shape. That’s another journey I’ll be sharing with you.

So here’s to my weight loss so far, and to the weight loss to come! I’m pretty proud right now!

4 Responses to “The New Me”

  1. Mary October 9, 2010 at 6:43 pm #

    Slow and steady hon.
    You look so CUTE in that pic!

  2. purplume October 9, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

    Congratulations. I am so happy for you. I can imagine how challenging it was not to breastfeed after having experienced it. Bless you all.

    I’ve released 18 pounds this year and am happy for me too. Yay us.

  3. Beckie October 10, 2010 at 1:27 am #

    Yay Sissy!! You look pretty either way!!! but that picture of you is Awesome! i’m clicking like a hundred times!!! Misses you soo much!!!

  4. Nadja October 10, 2010 at 4:42 am #

    Congratulations! And yes, you are looking great in that picture =)

Leave a Reply

