Cheesy, but True

8 Oct

Okay, it’s past twelve here, but I have an excuse. I have a sniffly baby and sometimes she controls my blogging time. Now that the excuses are out of the way, here’s the assignment for the day: share a picture of someone that has the biggest impact on you.

Here goes, and I swear I’m not always this corny.

Sorry, only picture I have of all of them together

These four little people have rocked my world to it’s very core. They have changed everything about my life. Let me tell you a little story.

Once upon a time, I was a party girl. I was wild and free and loved to spend my weekends partying, drinking and dancing. I spent my weeks working at a hair salon, smoking and drinking coffee and going on shopping sprees after work with my pal Melissa. We were two of a kind. We liked to flirt and have a good time.

Two pink lines on a pregnancy test changed everything. My baby boy James changed me from a selfish party girl into a mother. A mother who now has had the same jeans hanging in her closet that she bought 3 years ago. I traded leather pants for aprons, hot tub parties for birthday parties, and tube tops for stretch marks.

Sometimes I look in the mirror and can’t believe that those days were even real. Everything is different now. I rarely leave the house. Sometimes I go whole weeks and don’t wear makeup. My clothes are less stylish. My friends are fewer and farther between. I haven’t been to a party for someone older than eight years old in forever. And guess what?

I don’t mind a bit.

One Response to “Cheesy, but True”

  1. purplume October 8, 2010 at 4:43 am #

    Isn’t that the truth? There is nothing like having children.
    XD

Leave a Reply

