A Dream in Progress

8 Oct

I’ve been on this journey of self-discovery for a whole week now and I have learned a few things. I’ve learned that a huge chunk of who I am revolves around my family and how I relate to them, for example. I’ve learned that I’m an introvert and prefer the simpler things in life, and that I really do want to make a difference in the world.

Today asks me about my short-term goals. Well, that’s convenient since today one of my short-term goals has gone into full swing. That goal is to create the perfect nursery for my little princess.

Before Lola was born we had planned to paint a beautiful nursery for her. I had a color scheme planned and furniture picked…but at the end of the pregnancy we just got overwhelmed and agreed to put it off until after she was born. After all, all our babies sleep in our room for a few months. Then we got strapped for cash because Johnny’s parental leave pay got messed up and it got postponed again. Now we’re about to start. Tonight actually.

Here are a few pictures of the room before we yanked everything out of it. It was our spare bedroom/storage room.

The doorway

View from the doorway...and the mess

Another view

The closet

Today we pulled everything out of the room and put up painter’s tape in anticipation for starting the project.

We chose our colors carefully. I had a color scheme in mind and we went to pick out paint. Ironically enough, all three colors had food names.

Cotton Candy

Chocolate Kiss

Swiss Coffee

Mmmm…sounds like…dessert.

So tonight, my short term goals have started to take shape. We have the paint, we have the crib and we have the ideas. Stay tuned to see the project come to fruition.

4 Responses to “A Dream in Progress”

  1. Mary October 8, 2010 at 10:52 pm #

    Now I’m hungry *stomach growls*

  2. Linda October 8, 2010 at 11:08 pm #

    I can’t wait to see it finished………..so exciting!

  3. E. October 9, 2010 at 8:30 am #

    I really want to see the end product too.

    I’m borrowing your Self Actualisation project and will start it today. I think it’s a great idea.

  4. purplume October 10, 2010 at 8:46 pm #

    Oh lovely, home projects are so satisfying to do.

Leave a Reply

