My Facebook Status

2 Oct

Day 2 of my 30 day project told me to tell the meaning behind my Facebook status. Well…that would make for the world’s shortest blog post because my Facebook status is:

Joanie hates having a sore throat. Wish it would just go away.

That’s pretty self-explanatory. I hate being sick. Who doesn’t? Currently I’m coming down with another cold and it sucks. When I get sick, I’m a huge baby. I like to sleep a lot, wear my pyjamas all day and whine. Here are my favorite things in the world when I get a cold.

Ahhh...the mind-numbing goodness...

There’s nothing quite as blissful as a Nyquil coma. While I was pregnant the two bottles of Nyquil in my medicine cabinet taunted me whenever I got sick…now they’re all mine. The pharmacist said it was quite safe while breastfeeding but it might make Lola sleepy. Oh no. What a tragedy.

Ten boxes, please.

Puffs Plus Lotion with Vicks. Perfect for a sensitive “little” nose like mine. The lotion keeps my nose from turning into a ball of fire and therefore keeps me from looking like Santa’s favorite reindeer. (No, not Blitzen, the other one.) The Vicks helps to clear my stuffiness and it smells amazingly awesome.

The one and only

Call me crazy, but this stuff smells awesome. I also love how it tingles and warms up when it’s rubbed on. I also love that it’s a great way to sucker my husband into rubbing my back.

or the sequel is good too...

This tradition dates back to my college days, living with my friend Marianne. We’d been the best of friends since eighth grade and when we moved in together we made a collection of all our favorite movies. This one topped the list. When I got a cold and had to stay home from class, she stayed home with me and took care of me. She got me pillows and a blanket for the couch, a hot cup of tea and popped in “The Mummy”. And I promptly fell asleep. It’s my favorite sick-time movie.

And finally…

Though I prefer the lemon rather than the cherry shown

Nothing like a hot cup of Neo Citran to soothe a sore throat. So good.

So there you have it. The meaning behind my Facebook status and a little bonus beside. What are your must-haves when you have a cold?

One Response to “My Facebook Status”

  1. purplume October 4, 2010 at 12:55 am #

    I like chicken soup, preferably my mother’s recipe and ginger ale.
    I love letting go of my schedule and spending the day in bed.

Leave a Reply

