15 Facts About Me

1 Oct

A Facebook friend of mine has started this little 30-day journey to self-actualization recently and it caught my attention. At first I kind of rolled my eyes. I know who I am, right? I mean, I’m 29 years old now (for the second year running, no less) so certainly by now I know who I am. Then I read down through her list and thought that perhaps it couldn’t hurt to get reaquainted with myself and I decided to share this journey with you. I’m also participating in the NaBloPoMo challenge again, and 30 days of self-actualization plus Halloween…I got this.

(And I hear you all thinking “Yeah, maybe she’ll actually post more often now.” *insert shamed face here*)

Today’s challenge is to post a recent picture of me and 15 facts about myself, so here goes.

In my backyard earlier this week.

1. I have four beautiful children. James (8), Hayden (5), Silas (3) and Lola (2 months).

2. I love to cook, but hate to clean up the mess.

3. I am not a morning person. I like to stay up all night and sleep until noon. I don’t normally get to do that with my children at home, but while my husband is on leave from work he gets up with the boys and Lola and I catnap until we’re ready to get up. He is a morning person.

4. You know how little kids get on a kick where they have a “favorite movie” and watch it practically on repeat for weeks on end, then move on to another movie and do the same to that? I never grew out of that phase. My movie right now is “The Fast and the Furious” and I’m on my third night in a row watching it.

5. I couldn’t live without my sister Linda. She’s my very best friend and always has been. Relationships have broken over our closeness because we won’t let anyone come between us. We live by the motto “Lord help the mister who comes between me and my sister” (from the movie “White Christmas”) and the reason my relationship with Johnny has done so well is because he doesn’t feel threatened by the closeness Linda and I have. Rather, he encourages it.

6. I used to be a terrible doormat and always let people take advantage of me. Just recently I’ve found my spine and started working on strengthening it.

7. I always dreamed of having six children – five boys and one girl. So far I’m well on my way.

8. I love “clean” smells – Pine Sol, medicated Blistex, Vicks VapoRub, Mr. Clean, etc.

9. Other than my sister, my best friends are all people I’ve met online. I feel like most of my online friends know me better than anyone I’ve actually met in person does.

10. I am incredibly stubborn.

11. I have lived in Newfoundland for my entire life minus 2 years that I lived in Calgary, Alberta.

12. I play World of Warcraft and quite happily embrace the “gamer girl” title.

13. I have a short temper, but forgive openly and easily. If I hold a grudge for any length of time you can be darn well sure that your offense was a major one.

14. I have always wanted to be a writer and have written some short stories, mostly fantasy style.

15. I’m told that I’m a really good singer and I absolutely love music of any kind.

There, now you know 15 things about me that perhaps you didn’t know before. Now here’s a challenge for you! Tell me ONE thing (in the comments section) that I didn’t know about you.

5 Responses to “15 Facts About Me”

  1. Simply Me October 1, 2010 at 10:36 pm #

    Its great to know more abt you J and would you believe we are absolutely same on points
    # 2 ..oh how i hate cleaning up 😦
    # 3 Almost all or 9 out of 10 mornings are usually groggy w/o coz I guess I’m always half asleep 😉 but a good cuppa tea can instantly charge my batteries 😛
    # 4 I can watch my fav movie over and over again 🙂
    # 6 .. Me too .its a lesson I should have learnt long ago but better late than never
    and one thing you prob don’t know
    well I never thought I could write a blog till hubs literally coerced me ..

    Have a lovely weekend 🙂
    xoxo

  2. purplume October 4, 2010 at 1:14 am #

    I am enjoying reading these posts.
    Hmm one thing about me.
    I have been less of a people pleaser lately. It’s scary when I think I’ve lost a friendship by being true to myself. It is so fantastic to see which relationships survive and which go their way as a result of me speaking my truth.

  3. Beckie October 5, 2010 at 1:13 am #

    I can’t tell you ONE thing about me you don’t already know. You know practically everything about me! hahah you helped raise me !! hahaha No secrets on this end 🙂

  4. Nadja October 6, 2010 at 6:08 pm #

    Looks like I got back to my long lost computer just in time. Good to see you taking the NaBloPoMo challenge again.

    Hmmm… as for one thing about me… I love, love, love starting new projects, I’m just horrible at finishing them. *cough*NaBloPoMo*cough* I may be a closet ADD

  5. Linda October 7, 2010 at 1:21 am #

    I guess my post is much the same as Beckie’s. We’re so close that you know me as well as you know yourself……..which should be much better after your 30 days of blogging lol
    So just in case you don’t know, I’ll tell you again that you were more than just a little sister. You saved my life, not just once, but twice and you gave me something that was more precious to me than you know (you know that of which I speak). Thank you for being my #1 sisler 🙂

    Loves you always
    Da

Leave a Reply

