Baby Shower!

18 May

After my days spent on Babycenter.com I feel the need to preface this post with a bit of a disclaimer. Here in Newfoundland, the definition of a “baby shower” is usually very different from the baby showers my American friends seem to have. I have heard many of them declare that a baby shower for a 2nd, 3rd or 4th child is in very poor taste unless the children have a large age gap. I always wondered why until I heard how the baby showers go there. A baby shower here is very unlikely to have 100+ guests and the gifts would not consist of things like cribs, $500 travel systems or swings – not even from the grandparents.

What we call a “baby shower”, my American friends would call a “baby sprinkle”. There are no big-ticket gifts, just small items. Not a huge guest list. No one looks at a registry. Therefore, no one thinks it’s unusual if you have a baby shower for every baby. It’s more of an excuse for a bunch of ladies to get together, eat snacks and celebrate a new baby being born.

My baby shower was on Saturday and there is now a veritable sea of pink in my house. Everyone was very excited at the prospect of a little girl to spoil…and spoil her they did.

I won’t go into any details, just give you a couple of pictures of the baby shower and gifts.

Table all set with goodies!

Cupcakes courtesy of Beckie

Cutest little outfit and shoes from my sister - pink of course!

Her bedtime toy and blankie from my mom

Beckie loves cows...this was from her

Family picture!

2 Responses to “Baby Shower!”

  1. Simply Me May 19, 2010 at 4:29 pm #

    Oh i love the baby shower pics and im totally with you on having one for each of your children ..its not about getting smthing big and xpensive just getting together and hving loads of fun ..
    and the earrings look lovely ..am so glad you like them and wore them 🙂
    I wish i could be a part of all this baby festivity too ..makes me all warm and fuzzy 🙂
    Much love to you and your family

  2. purplume May 27, 2010 at 10:24 pm #

    It looks like joy and loving. I love all the pink. So wow, this will be your first girl. How exciting for all of you. It’s so nice for a girl to have big brothers.

Leave a Reply

