Hayden’s Song

12 Apr

Hayden was mine and Johnny’s first baby together, even though we both consider James our firstborn. My pregnancy with Hayden was super difficult. I came down with a serious case of prenatal depression and was on antidepressants for the majority of the pregnancy. As much as Hayden was a wanted baby, I hated being pregnant. Every minute was agony for me.

After he was born, the depression went away. It was mind-boggling how it seemed that as Hayden was pushed into the world, the depression was pushed out as well. I thought that the worst was behind me…then Hayden turned out to be the single most frustrating infant that I have ever come in contact with. If he wasn’t nursing, he was screaming. He refused to sleep anywhere but in our arms. He nursed constantly and I couldn’t even pump milk so that Johnny could take a turn feeding him so that I could nap – he refused to take a bottle. We tried. It was brutal.

He did grow out of the crying – as well as the insistence on sleeping in our bed. He’s still a difficult and strong-willed child, but we’ve learned some tricks for dealing with the dramatic tendencies and frustrating behaviors. He’s vastly improved and is one of the smartest children we have ever seen. He has a memory that is second to none and retains facts like a walking encyclopedia.

I have no doubt that this boy will go places in life. He’s got the brains, the determination and the personality. His song is “Upside Down” by Jack Johnson, because if anyone could turn the whole world upside down, it’s Hayden.

One Response to “Hayden’s Song”

  1. Simply Me April 12, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    I can see he’s always been quite a handful for you but you give me the feeeling he’s def worth it ..oh you make me have kids sooooo much !!

Leave a Reply

