Their Songs

9 Apr

Do you and your significant other have a song that you call “your song”? You know, that one that no matter what, takes you back through everything you’ve been through and reminds you why you keep hanging on?

Yes, Johnny and I have a song. However, before I reveal “our song” I want to tell you that I associate songs with a lot more than just my husband. I have a song (or two) for each of my boys. Music has always been an important part of my life and I’ve always used it to relate to people and things. Ever wonder how boring a movie would be without music? I feel that way about life. There are times when I feel like life is a movie because I find myself hearing songs playing that fit the moment.

First James’ song.

James was born at a time in my life when I felt I couldn’t get any lower. I was living on the other side of the country from my family with his father, a man who I simply didn’t belong with. We wanted different things from life and from a relationship. When I found out I was pregnant, I felt like the world was falling out from under me. How could I raise a baby in a situation in which I myself was so unhappy? How could I do him justice?

When James was born, he helped me find my strength. He made me realize that I didn’t need to stay with his father. I didn’t need anyone to help take care of him. He was all I needed and together we’d make it through. Even though he is now living with his grandparents due to circumstances that were beyond my control, he’s still the one I look to when I need to remember that I can be strong and go on.

James’ song:

“If I Didn’t Have You” – Amanda Marshall

One Response to “Their Songs”

  1. Simply Me April 12, 2010 at 6:41 pm #

    This is such a beautiful song ..and i love this line ” I wudnt be me ..if i dint have you ” .. the next best thing to conveying ur deepest feelings is to convey it wid a song …

Leave a Reply

