The Promised Update

5 Apr

Today I am 25 weeks, 1 day pregnant. I cannot tell you how much weight I have gained because I haven’t been weighed in a while. I can however tell you that as of 16ish weeks, I was still down 8lbs from my pre-pregnancy weight. I feel fairly certain that this is not going to be the case when I go back to the doctor on Wednesday.

On March 25, we had our first ultrasound. It was a pretty amazing experience, even though this is not our first time doing this. No matter how many babies I have, that first glimpse of my baby on the monitor chokes me up and the reality starts to sink in that there’s a baby in there! It’s not just because I’ve been eating too many Cadbury Creme Eggs (don’t judge me!) and those movements aren’t just bad gas! Though…I’m sure that the gas factors in there somewhere. Pregnant women are gassier than a Petro-Canada station. (For you non-Canadians reading this, in case you couldn’t guess Petro-Canada is a gas station…I’m not sure what they’re called in other parts of the world!)

Here’s what Babycenter.com has to say about our Bumblebee this week:

Head to heels, your baby now measures about 13 1/2 inches. Her weight — a pound and a half — isn’t much more than an average rutabaga, but she’s beginning to exchange her long, lean look for some baby fat. As she does, her wrinkled skin will begin to smooth out and she’ll start to look more and more like a newborn. She’s also growing more hair — and if you could see it, you’d now be able to discern its color and texture.

Say it with me, won’t you? AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW…………

The boys are absolutely bound and determined that they’re having a sister. Hayden gives you the stinkeye if you try to tell him that it could just as easily be another brother, and Silas refuses to call the baby by anything but the girl’s name we have picked. If this is a boy, this could lead to some interesting brawls when they get older…

So here you go, and thank you for your patience while we recovered from what Johnny is absolutely convinced was the Norwalk virus…I promise on a stack of Bibles to be more faithful to my blogging now that the worst of it is over.

Without further adieu, I unveil the first picture of either Lola Sophia or Castiel Michael Dewayne (“Cas”), the newest soldier in our Army:

Womb with a View

3 Responses to “The Promised Update”

  1. Da April 5, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

    I can’t wait to meet this little person………Auntie Da may get to buy pink!!
    See you in May baby sister hugs & kisses for you and the little people. Tell them Auntie a loves them and sends lots of love.

  2. purplume April 7, 2010 at 9:06 pm #

    congrats and best wishes with the entire pregnancy.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010: A Year in Review « Raising an Army - January 2, 2011

    […] March 23rd we got our first glimpse of the little bean who we would soon know as Lola. I was so excited and was almost positive that I […]

Leave a Reply

