14 weeks, 1 day

18 Jan

Hello second trimester, where have you been all my life?!

Finally the nausea has eased up for the most part, I’m not sleeping 18 hours a day (or even wishing I was) and I can sit/stand/walk for long periods of time without feeling like I’m going to collapse and/or barf. Life is good. My belly also popped this week…but no pictures yet. Have patience. I will post them I promise. When I don’t look like crap.

This is the part I’m having trouble with. I’ve done this three times before and all three times I looked great. Not just by my own standards either. Everyone told me that pregnancy really suited me and that I “glowed”. Well this time I just look like crap. My skin is dry and flaky. So dry and flaky, in fact, that I can’t wear makeup to cover up the ACNE that has broken out across my nose and cheeks! What the heck is up with THAT? I didn’t even have acne as a teenager other than the occasional breakout during certain times of the month. My hair is limp and lifeless and dull…and depressing. I really hope this improves. I don’t want to spend the next 26 weeks looking like a street urchin with a skin condition.

At our last appointment, everything looked great. Nice steady heartbeat and all that. I have to go for bloodwork at the end of the month (yuck) and we should be having an anatomy ultrasound sometime in February. In March we go for our 3D ultrasound and will know if we’re going to get a little miss or a little mister.

Other than that…not much to report!

2 Responses to “14 weeks, 1 day”

  1. E. January 18, 2010 at 9:16 pm #

    Glad the nausea and tiredness have settled down for you. Pregnancy hormones do such weird things to us. Hope the blah lookign stage passes soon for you.

  2. Mary January 19, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

    Cocoa butter!

Leave a Reply

