Christmas with the Army

29 Dec

I’m finally able to sit down and push out a blog post for everyone who’s been waiting. It was a fabulous holiday, and I managed to get most of Christmas Eve and all of Christmas day morning-sickness-free! Oh and in other news, the person who coined the term “morning sickness” was cruel to mislead all us poor pregnant people like this. This sickness can strike any time of day or night, even at 4am when I am tucked safe and warm in my bed. It’s sadistic, that’s what it is.

But back to Christmas! My parents and James arrived on the afternoon of the 24th and with them came an early present! My sister Linda gave me her television and TV stand that she left behind when she moved. Thank goodness because our television was about to die and if we can’t get the Treehouse channel, the world as we know it may end. The new tv and stand look far better in our living room, too.

Yes, that is Angelina the Ballerina.

My mom and I (mostly her, because she’s the expert) cooked a delish Newfoundland meal for our dinner, including fresh codfish. Yum! Johnny and the kids wouldn’t eat it, but that just meant more for me! After dinner, we pulled out our surprise dessert, which the boys loved!

Frosty the Snowman cake!

After dessert, the boys played Wii, my mom and I cleaned up, and we mostly relaxed for the rest of the afternoon. Oh and for those of you who were wondering, yes, we did get a topper for the tree, finally. It took some searching for one that didn’t make me instantly cringe, and I didn’t get the star that I wanted, but I’m happy with the choice.

Some of the presents spread out!

The boys went out to spread reindeer food for Rudolph and the crew, just in case they needed something extra to draw them to our house. We were really grateful to have a small spattering of snow to spread it on. Our snow of earlier in the month had all melted and it wasn’t looking promising for a white Christmas, but Father Winter came through for us in the end!

Snacks for Rudolph

We tucked the boys in for bed and my mom and I finished wrapping stocking stuffers. Then we all collapsed in bed ourselves, knowing that morning would come far sooner than we were ready for.

The boys got up at 7am. Unfortunately Hayden started the morning by throwing up on his bed. Not cool. He was sick for most of the day but still managed to enjoy the loot that Santa left behind. I’ll let the pictures do the talking for a while.

In front of the tree

 

Lego Darth Vader Tie Fighter for Hayden!

Yahtzee for James!

Aunt Cecilia is totally cool and bought Transformers!

Russell, Nee and Eekie are also totally cool! Stealth Bumblebee!

And for the interested parties, no, Nee and Eekie are not their real names. My kids just seem to like it better than “Tiffany” and “Melissa”, who (along with Russell) are their cousins from out west.

They also sent a remote control Thomas the Tank Engine!

This thing plays the Thomas theme as it rolls across the floor. I’m going to seek revenge for this awesome and annoying toy.

More presents with Poppy! (Johnny's Dad)

James and his loot

If I posted pictures of all the presents they got individually, my blog would probably crash. They were really happy and had a great day!

My favorite part was dinner. Which my Mom cooked for me.

I’ll try to post again soon, with pictures of our post-Christmas fun! Our snow has all rained away again, so I’m hoping for early spring. 😉

4 Responses to “Christmas with the Army”

  1. Anella December 29, 2009 at 8:29 pm #

    The first picture of the children is cute! The rest of your pictures are great too!
    Looks like you all had a very awesome christmas!

  2. purplume December 30, 2009 at 5:57 am #

    It’s fun to see your Christmas joy. Have your best new year ever, Hope Hayden is well.

  3. Nadja December 30, 2009 at 7:38 pm #

    There’s nothing like watching kids open their presents. =) I love the snowman cake– what a wonderful idea! Glad to hear the nausea stayed away on Christmas– a great present from Santa, I’d say.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A New Year « Raising an Army - January 2, 2010

    […] did, however, manage to blog about Christmas with the Army and I promise to do better from here on out. I can’t swear to it that you’ll get a […]

Leave a Reply

