It’s Beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

15 Dec

I haven’t dropped off the face of the earth. I haven’t died. We didn’t lose electricity and internet in one of the many blizzards that’s hit us over the past few weeks. That’s the good news.

I’ve merely been fighting more nausea and a cold. A cold that thanks to the miniscule human that I’m housing, I can’t take anything to relieve. So it’s been a cold that’s been fought with time spent wrapped in a blanket on the sofa. It’s starting to get better…It better be gone by Christmas!

So as an update, here’s what’s happened (other than that) since my last post.

On December 8th I had my first prenatal appointment. I was pretty excited about it, but I’m sure as the months go on and my doctor and I see more of each other than I see of my family (or so it seems) that the appointments will be less anticipated. However, that appointment gave me my due date, which is pretty exciting. It’s July 18, which is the same due date I was given for James. Let’s see if this little one makes it to the due date or arrives on his/her big brother’s birthday!

Also on December 8th was Hayden’s first school Christmas Pageant. It was adorable and I would post pictures of it but none of them came out very well. The auditorium was dark and the stage was bright and my camera didn’t want to cooperate. I’m hoping my sister in law (whose little boy is the same age as Hayden and was in the same pageant!) got some better pictures that she can share.

Two very special birthdays were celebrated in the past month too. Hayden turned 5 on November 23 and Silas turned 3 on December 5th. We celebrated both birthdays on November 28th and had the extended family in for pizza and cake.

Birthday dinner

 We finally shook off some of the holiday slacking too, and now our Christmas tree is up in our living room! I’m really excited about this one because we bought ALL NEW decorations. I wanted red, white and silver and that’s just what I got! Of course it’s a little less “full” than it will be in years to come I’m sure, but for our first Christmas in our new home and starting our own traditions I think it’s perfect.

It looks better in person, honest.

Oh and there’s no star yet. The only ones I could find at the store we went to were ugly, so we’re going to look for a pretty one this week. It’s a real tree! It smells just divine.

So there you have it. You’re all caught up on the Army’s happenings since my last post, and when we finish our house decorating, I’ll post more pictures for you to see!

3 Responses to “It’s Beginning to look a lot like Christmas…”

  1. Nadja December 15, 2009 at 6:29 pm #

    Love the colors on the tree! I can’t wait to start putting up some of my old ornaments on our tree. For now I have to stick with the toddler safe ones since my dear Audrey just can’t take her hands off of them.

    Hope your nausea and cold goes away soon. Take care of yourself!

  2. Tracy December 15, 2009 at 8:16 pm #

    Aww! I love your tree!

    Are you going to find out if you’re having a boy or a girl in advance, or are you going to wait to be surprised?

  3. purplume December 16, 2009 at 4:04 pm #

    Sorry to hear about your cold. I remember those days of having a cold while pregnant and waiting it out. May you all stay well for the holidays and beyond.
    I need a star or an angle for my tree top too. I haven’t found the right one yet. Some years, I’ve made a cardboard star and covered it in aluminum foil. It works better the taller the tree and the less you can see it closely.
    Happy Holidays all.

Leave a Reply

