The Power of the Tiny

29 Nov

Well I totally fell off the NaBloPoMo wagon. Why? Because my life is now being dictated to me by something that is no bigger than a lentil. While I haven’t been experiencing the full-blown morning sickness that disordered my senses and sent me into a weight plunge in the early months of my first pregnancy, I’ve instead been debating if what this teeny offspring is subjecting me to isn’t perhaps worse. A nausea that doesn’t as a rule quite reach that barrelling-to-the-bathroom peak, but teeters on the precipice all day long. I kid you not, there is no reprieve from it. My only two sessions spent in prayer to the porcelain god occurred at – no joke – 2-4am.

My stomach is so confused that sometimes I can’t tell if I’m sick or hungry. It’s that bad. Then of course there’s my wonderfully nutritious diet. *derisive snort*

I eat whatever doesn’t make me feel like my stomach just got thrown into a blender, so my foods of choice have been: chocolate ice cream, peanut butter toast, wheat stix, and tea. Don’t worry, I’ve managed to choke down a meal or two, but those four items have comprised the majority of my diet for the past week or so.

When I got the postitive on my pregnancy test I made a vow to myself that I would enjoy the entirety of this pregnancy and not wish any of it away. I loved being pregnant with Silas and up until the last couple of weeks (when, let’s face it, every woman gets tired of being pregnant and just wants that baby out) I dreaded for it to end. I hoped that would be the case this time too, but I’ve got to be honest. With this persistent nausea…I just want to skip to the second trimester so it will go away.

10 Responses to “The Power of the Tiny”

  1. Tracy November 29, 2009 at 3:48 pm #

    Even though it sounds positively miserable, I am still envious! And Dave suggests trying some yogurt! He says it’s one of the easiest foods to hold down.

  2. Rammi November 29, 2009 at 10:08 pm #

    An excuse to eat chocolate ice cream whenever you want… Focus on the positives! 😀

  3. Mary November 30, 2009 at 2:26 am #

    Emetrol, ginger snaps, Sprite/Ginger Ale and saltines!
    Saved my #$$

  4. Nadja November 30, 2009 at 3:35 am #

    I think I survived my first 16 weeks with Wendy’s ceasar side salad and 4 piece chicken tenders. A diet of ice cream sounds pretty good to me =) Small snacks throughout the day instead of meals should work. Anything with ginger is also good (though I personally couldn’t stand the ginger candy!) I hear vegemite is also good if you can get it– though that’s definitely an acquired taste. (I could go on and on, so I’ll stop now while I can. Sorry… the ob/gyn nurse in me can’t help it). Hope the nausea ends soon. I know how miserable that can be.

  5. Solnushka November 30, 2009 at 10:05 pm #

    Hang in there! My Brother says discomfort in pregnacy is a good thing as it gives you something to hold over the sproglett in the future.

    Of course, he’s my _brother_ so it’s all academic to him.

  6. purplume December 7, 2009 at 3:32 am #

    I feel for you. I remember those days. A nurse friend of mine says nausea is a better torture than pain. I don’t know if I agree with that.
    I have been unable to find canned powdered poi to send to family. Here in Hawaii, it is renowned for helping with nausea and is very nutritious also. It helps if you like it. I love fresh poi. It’s a subtle flavor. I don’t like the fermented kind.
    My nausea always was better when I had something in my stomach. Consequently I grazed.
    Love your idea about totally enjoying your pregnancy. Happy time to you all.

  7. purplume December 11, 2009 at 1:09 am #

    Hope you are all well. Miss seeing your posts.
    XD

  8. Pale December 12, 2009 at 9:19 pm #

    Bet you 200g its a girl

  9. Pale December 13, 2009 at 12:11 am #

    Gift for you with Lots of Love!

    And if that didnt work http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1Jybmtvcxw

Leave a Reply

