A Letter to the Man I Love

21 Nov

(Yes, yes, I know. I should have posted this yesterday, which was his birthday but I was too busy doing other things. Like loving on him, watching a movie with him, and let’s not forget trying not to throw up.)

(Edit: The blog is showing the date of this post as the 21st…when it’s 11pm on the 20th. Guess my settings are messed up. Okay, for clarification, his birthday is the 19th!)

Dear Johnny,

Happy 28th birthday! This is the sixth birthday you’ve spent as my husband. It probably wasn’t the most exciting one either, but you seemed to enjoy it. Especially your time spent with your new Wii. 😉

Do you remember the day we met? I do. A million coincidences collided to bring us to the same place at the same time, leading me to believe that there are no coincidences, just fate. The weather was not favorable to me driving all the way to town that cold night. You were supposed to have been out of town. But there we both were, in your parents’ church, both cajoled there by our friends. God bless our friends for their incessent nagging.

So many things should have convinced us that we weren’t meant to be together. You were adamant that you were never having children  – I was a single mother. I was looking for stability and promises for the future – you were a free spirit who liked to fly by the seat of your pants.

Oh yeah, and I was dating your friend.

But you were there when that relationship crashed and burned. You somehow in that short period of time became one of my very best friends…and somewhere along the line stole my heart. I didn’t mind. I never want it back.

I knew I was in love with you the day that six month old James threw up all over the kitchen floor and without even telling me that he’d done it, you cleaned it up and comforted him. To me, that solidified it.

Remember when you asked me to marry you on that little bridge in the park? I’ll never forget how my heart stopped when you went down on one knee. You still make my heart stop a million times a day. It’s amazing I’m still alive, really.

Oh how things have changed. Not only did you change your mind about being childless for life, you took James and became his Daddy – and are eagerly awaiting the arrival of little Soldier #4 with just as much excitement as you did the others. You’re now a sensible hard-working man with a shaved head and no piercings…unlike the long-haired punk who proposed to me.

But I still love you as much today as I did then. Even more, if that’s possible. You still turn my knees to mush and give me chills.

I guess some things never change.

I love you forever and always, til the stars fall from the sky.

Joanie

OLD picture of Johnny and our little Hippies!

(Never  mind the red eye in this picture…I was still getting used to our new camera!)

4 Responses to “A Letter to the Man I Love”

  1. denise November 21, 2009 at 12:51 am #

    wow, great letter…i love the idea of writing a letter to your husband that is for him (and you) but also gives us glimpses into your present and past…thanks! will have to look into doing the same on my blog one of these days…congrats on #4 on the way!

  2. Mandy November 21, 2009 at 7:27 am #

    what a lovely love letter! And congratulations on adding to your extremely cute brood 🙂

  3. Niqui November 22, 2009 at 2:43 am #

    awww, how cute! Congrats on #4 🙂

  4. Jennifer November 24, 2009 at 2:20 pm #

    this letter is so sweet, I love it 🙂 I like to write stuff for my husband too.

    And congrats to you on the addition 🙂

Leave a Reply

