A Very Special Birthday

8 Nov

Dear Beckie,

Today I can officially say I have known you for 19 years. That’s a long time to know someone. The first time I met you, I was sure you were the cutest thing I had ever seen. Little pursed lips, a mop of dark hair (that was to fall out and turn blonde! Who knew?!) and teensy-tiny hands. I was so proud to be your aunt, even though the years that were to follow would see us becoming more like sisters since the age gap between us was so small.

I remember you at two. You were so freaking adorable. Blonde curls, big blue eyes and an impish smile that no one could resist. A dimple in your chin that gave you an angelic appearance. An appearance that you shattered by smacking your brother over the head with a toy that he tried to take from you. You have always been able to take care of yourself, even back then.

I remember you at five. I walked to school with you, holding your hand. I couldn’t wait to show you off to my friends. They all thought you were the sweetest thing. I smugly knew that they were right. You were.

I watched you grow and the qualities that I always admired about you only shone brighter. You were smart, persistent, aggressive about what you believed in, and independant. You didn’t need anyone and you didn’t allow your friends to change you. Instead you displayed a spirit so strong that I knew instinctively that you would someday change the world. Again, I was right. You have changed the world. Every day that you’re in it, you make this world a better place simply by being YOU.

Then you moved away and I felt like something had been torn out of my heart. I would never deny you the joy of travelling across the country with the man you love, because I remember being nineteen and wanting to do just that. Yet I couldn’t help but feel a little pang that I wouldn’t get to see you every day. That our pyjama parties and baking binges would be fewer and farther between.

Somehow the distance hasn’t made as much of a difference as I thought. We still talk every day. I still get to hear about what’s going on in your life and you listen to what’s going on in mine. I still know you as well as ever. Your laughter still sounds the same. It echoes through the corridors of my heart, even when you’re so far away.

Now here you are. Nineteen. A woman. Soon to be a bride. I’m so proud of you Beckie. You’re every good thing that every woman should be and I love you now more than ever, something I never thought possible. My love for you has grown exponentially every year since you were born and I was never more proud to be your Sissy.

Happy birthday baby girl. May the years to come bring you enough sunshine to keep you warm and just enough rain to help you continue to grow and blossom.

Forever Yours,
Sissy

Beckie2

My Beckie

6 Responses to “A Very Special Birthday”

  1. Niqui November 8, 2009 at 10:45 pm #

    Aww, how sweet 🙂

  2. Tracy November 9, 2009 at 2:44 am #

    Awwwww! You’re the sweetest! 😀

  3. Rammi November 9, 2009 at 4:43 pm #

    Beckie seems like someone I’d love to know. Happy birthday from the blogosphere! Love the dedication; makes me wish I wasn’t an only child.

  4. Cassie November 9, 2009 at 6:16 pm #

    aww thats adorable, so touching and heartfelt ❤

  5. Beckie! November 11, 2009 at 10:25 pm #

    Sissy your the best! and i’m glad your the only sissy i have!!!! and still glad i don’t have to share you! hahaha

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wedding – Part 1 « Raising an Army - September 19, 2010

    […] you don’t remember how special Beckie is to me, you might want to check out my post on November 9, 2009, which was a birthday post for her. Beckie and I have always been very close, more like sisters. In […]

Leave a Reply

