My Geek Post

7 Nov

WARNING: If you are not a World of Warcraft gamer…you probably won’t understand half of this. Grab a teenager/gamer geek and ask them to translate.

As I’ve mentioned in my profile…pretty much everywhere, I’m a gamer. Hubs and I took up World of Warcraft shortly after Silas was born and honestly it saved my sanity. As a stay at home mom (especially with a newborn back then) I didn’t get out much and the social aspect of the game kept me from losing my mind.

I played several different characters, but the one that embedded itself deepest in my heart was Camdyn. My blood elf priest.

Cam

Camdyn of the many titles

One thing that was implemented in the game with the launch of the recent expansion was the concept of “Achievements”. You do certain things in the game to gain points – and some of those achievements award titles. Well, I was sold. I poured my heart and soul into Camdyn and was determined to have more titles than Johnny. (No I’m not competetive…what makes you say that?)

Yesterday I earned Camdyn’s ninteenth title. Yes, ninteenth. And since Elkei over at Witchhazel made a World of Warcraft post last night (that, if you’re a WoW gamer you should go read because it’s hysterical…and rather depressing at the same time…) I was inspired to share with all of you my geek-ness. Here without further ado, are Camdyn’s titles:

  • Ambassador (earned by being exalted with all 5 of her faction’s sub-factions)
  • Brewmaster (completed all the Brewfest holiday achievements)
  • Champion of the Frozen Wastes (completed several of the Northrend heroics and raids)
  • Champion of the Naaru (Burning Crusade heroics and raids)
  • Chef (completed all of the cooking achievements)
  • Crusader (successfully championed all 5 Horde sub-factions at the Argent Tournament)
  • Flame Keeper (completed all of the Midsummer Fire Festival holiday achievements)
  • Guardian of Cenarius (my favorite! Exalted status with the Cenarian Circle and Cenarian Expedition)
  • Jenkins (the embarrassing one. Kill 50 rookery whelps in Upper Blackrock Spire in 15 seconds or less.)
  • Matron (complete all of the Children’s Week holiday achievements)
  • of Orgrimmar (become a champion for the Orcs at the Argent Tournament and gain exalted status with the faction)
  • of Sen’jin (become a champion for the Darkspear Trolls at the Argent Tournament and gain exalted status with the faction)
  • of Silvermoon (become a champion for the Blood Elves at the Argent Tournament and gain exalted status with the faction)
  • of Thunder Bluff (become a champion for the Tauren at the Argent Tournament and gain exalted status with the faction)
  • of Undercity (become a champion for the Forsaken at the Argent Tournament and gain exalted status with the faction)
  • the Argent Champion (gain exalted status with both the Argent Dawn and the Argent Crusade)
  • the Explorer (fill in every corner of your world map by exploring every area)
  • the Hallowed (completed all of the Hallow’s End holiday achievements)
  • the Noble (completed all of the Noblegarden holiday achievements)

Come American Thanksgiving, World of Warcraft will be celebrating “Pilgrim’s Bounty” and with a little luck the twentieth title will be “Pilgrim”. Wish me luck!

Oh and Johnny? I so beat you. Take that! 😉

8 Responses to “My Geek Post”

  1. Tracy November 7, 2009 at 4:18 pm #

    There should be an achievement for collecting a certain number of titles that rewards the title of “the Entitled.” How many times can I say ‘title’ in a sentence? Title title title title title title title.

  2. Julie November 7, 2009 at 7:16 pm #

    I had never heard of the game until we watched Second Skin. My sister plays the one you play. I am stuck on final fantasy.

  3. raisinganarmy November 7, 2009 at 7:50 pm #

    Oh and if anyone is wondering which of these plethoria of titles I display on my character, I vary between three:

    Ambassador Camdyn
    Camdyn, Guardian of Cenarius
    or
    Camdyn of the Undercity

    I wish I could combine the two and become “Ambassador Camdyn of the Undercity” because that would be awesomesauce.

  4. Alex Bronca November 9, 2009 at 1:47 am #

    It’s been a while since I played WoW. I made it up to level 40 before I let my subscription expire. I love the game for everything it is, but I honestly don’t want it to eat up my free time anymore. Who knows, if I get bored of the things I’m doing in life now, maybe I’ll go back to Azeroth.

  5. DeWayne November 9, 2009 at 1:56 pm #

    What is WoW? >.> So never heard of it 😛

    • raisinganarmy November 9, 2009 at 1:57 pm #

      You goober. We’re playing it together right now. =P

  6. Jennifer November 9, 2009 at 4:41 pm #

    Awesome! Another gamer 🙂 My husband and I have our own guild on the Horde side. Although I am not a big one on titles, I like some of the cool achievements, and I can appreciate the hard work you had to do to get all those. Good luck with the Pilgrim title!

  7. Daria December 7, 2009 at 6:36 pm #

    How did Pilgrim’s Bounty go for you? I was not really able to play for much of it, and unfortunately, I am not high enough level yet to complete all of the quests… Someday! I have a bunch of characters, but my two favorites are by far, my Human Warlock (lvl 63) and my two rogues – one dwarf one Night Elf. I never quite got into the Horde side of things, though I do have a couple of BEs out there. =) Good luck with your future acheivements! Feast of the Winter Veil is just around the corner! =)

Leave a Reply

