Project Housewife

4 Nov

I wasn’t always happy about being a housewife.

Now don’t get me wrong, I have dreamed since I was a little girl about being married, having lots of children, and staying home to raise them. It sounded so awesome. So much better than getting up every morning and dragging myself off to a job where I was stuck with people I probably didn’t really like for 8-10 hours and then coming home. Instead I’d get to stay at home and relax with my children and enjoy my day, right?

…right?

Yeah, okay, lesson learned. I still have to get up early in the morning and do a lot of work. For a long time I wasn’t so happy about this. It had sounded so much better in theory than in reality. Living in the old apartment added to my dread of being a housewife. Days on end spent in a downstairs apartment with two preschoolers, never seeing anyone other than them and the hubs…it was dreary and depressing. I didn’t want to clean the apartment because I hated it so much. I didn’t want to go into my kitchen to cook or bake because it was so tiny that if I tried to do anything I might trip over my kitchen table. There was really NO room. I had a small 18-inch square counter space to do anything.  Add my crockpot to the equation and there goes my counter space. I was chopping and slicing and mixing on my table.

Now things are different. I have a nice big kitchen (that I just realized I have yet to post a picture of…) and lots of counter space. My crockpot, blender, juicer and other small appliances are all readily available. I have two (yes, two) large glass cutting boards that sit on my countertop just waiting for me to slice and dice, and the addition of a deep freezer (something we didn’t have the space for in the old place) has allowed us to buy in bulk.

When we decided to take this house, I began what I call “Project Housewife”. It’s my own little set of goals for keeping my house clean and tastefully decorated, cooking healthy meals, and baking goodies for my family. I decided to photograph my attempts, even my disasters, and document them in my blog. Maybe ten years from now I’ll sit here and laugh at myself.

I set out to find healthy and easy recipes, decorating tips, and things like that. One of the blogs I found myself reading religiously is Newlyweds! Her recipes are fantastic and I love her ideas for gardening and things like that. Over there in her recipe archive I found the recipe for Crock Pot Roast with Potatoes and Carrots which I tested out today. My family LOVED it. I used the sweet and sour sauce instead of the jalepeno jelly, since I wasn’t too sure how my kids would react to the jelly. So here was my result:

100_1108

Crock Pot Roast with Potatoes and Carrots

It was absolutely delish and very filling.

So again, original recipe here and this was my very slightly altered version:

Crock Pot Roast with Potatoes and Carrots:

1 beef roast (3-4 lbs)
potatoes (I used about 5 medium sized ones), peeled and cubed
4 large carrots, peeled and cut into 1-inch pieces
salt and pepper
1/2 cup sweet and sour sauce
1 package onion soup mix

Put roast in the slow cooker. Spread out 2 sheets of foil.

Warning: You will need a lot of foil and you will need a double layer. At one point mine ended up with one spot that had only one layer and it ripped, so I had to wrap it again.

Put the carrots and potatoes in the center of the foil. Season with salt and pepper. Fold the two sides over to cover the vegetables, then fold the ends up so that it’s sealed into a nice foil packet. Set aside.

Pour the sweet and sour sauce over the roast. I turned the roast to cover both sides evenly. Then rub the onion soup mix onto the roast, spreading evenly all over the meat.

Place the foil packet on top of the meat.

Cook on high for about 5 hours, or on low for 6-8 hours. Save the juice that gathers in the bottom of the crockpot to pour over the meat and vegetables.

My kids loved it and so did Johnny. Thank you to the Newlyweds! site for the fabulous dinner idea! Quick, easy, simple cleanup.

Project Housewife is well underway.

6 Responses to “Project Housewife”

  1. Jen L. November 5, 2009 at 11:05 am #

    I wanna come and eat at your house! What a great looking army and what a good assessment of life as a housewife! Happy NaBloPoMo.

  2. Augusta November 5, 2009 at 3:51 pm #

    Now THAT is good comfort food! Mmmmm…

  3. Sweet Pea November 5, 2009 at 6:41 pm #

    So glad you enjoyed the recipe. Its a favorite of ours also.

  4. Mary November 6, 2009 at 12:56 pm #

    If you ever want to try the pepper sauce, I know a place to get some along with bakery stuff!
    Lollipoptree.com

  5. Tricky November 7, 2009 at 6:11 pm #

    I have a secret desire to be a “housewife” as well, or is that ‘househusband”?

  6. Dave November 14, 2009 at 7:55 pm #

    Mmm. I LOVE braised roasts. Using the onion soup mix as a spice rub is pretty inspired, actually. Most spice rubs have a ton of powdered onion in them so it just makes sense.

Leave a Reply

